Autism · Grief · Parenting

Grieving My Child’s Diagnosis

When I was in high school, I learned about Elisabeth Kubler-Ross’s Five Stages of Grief (the stages we go through when we are processing a significant loss or change). It was part of an assignment for a speech I was working on in debate class. Denial, Anger, Bargaining, Depression, and Acceptance I still have them… Continue reading Grieving My Child’s Diagnosis

Friendships · Grief · Survival Mode

When Life Feels Unfamiliar

It was a matter of days, after my oldest son’s first diagnosis, that the emails and Facebook links began pouring in. Welcome to Holland, by Emily Pearl Kingsley, is like required reading for a mom with a newly diagnosed child. I read it. I liked it. I identified with it. I nodded my head a… Continue reading When Life Feels Unfamiliar

Depression · Grief · Survival Mode

Depression and Mothering A Child With Special Needs

It’s been coming on for a while now. And with good reason. The list of diagnoses and medicines. The boys’ meltdowns and anxiety attacks. The constant hypervigilance. The lack of sleep. The loss of any real personal time. And, the intense grief that my youngest is spinning out of control in a mood disorder that… Continue reading Depression and Mothering A Child With Special Needs

Grace · Grief · Parenting · Sensory Processing Disorder

I Am That Mom

I could feel it. The other parents staring. Their glances back and forth, between my sweet son, me and then each other. My youngest just started gymnastics. He really wanted to do it, and I really wanted to get him into occupational therapy. Like his brother, as hormones have started to change him into a… Continue reading I Am That Mom

Autism · Chronic Illness · Grace · Grief · Parenting

Why I No Longer Say ‘This Too Shall Pass’

It has been a year now, since my son received his chronic illness diagnosis. I remember all the research the doctor referenced. The higher risk of lymphoma, the decreased life expectancy, the recommendation for a wheel chair. It is all seared into my brain, plain as day. It has been a year now, since we… Continue reading Why I No Longer Say ‘This Too Shall Pass’